Meatless may is over, What’s next?

Meatless May ended, and I have decided to continue eating a vegan (whole foods-focused) diet for another month. Perhaps longer. I’m really grateful to have been invited to participate in “Meatless May with the Bud Club“, and happy with my results.
I left the following message with the Meatless may FB group :

I have felt better overall with the vegan diet. I can compare it to changes in temperament that i experienced after switching from a sedentary lifestyle to an active one. My arthritis has been reduced, and energy levels haven’t dropped. although, weight has. It has really helped me think outside of the box, and try a lot of new things. Most friends are supportive and in some cases overly concerned that I will not be happy while they are eating meat next to me. However, I haven’t had an urge to eat meat and I’m perfectly fine with everyone eating what they want to eat. Lol. I was previously concerned about protein intake. I came from a high protein / weight lifter diet, but I do have an abundant source of protein between my seeds, nuts and legumes. I cook more than I did before. The Vegan restaurants I have found are amazing! I am still on the fence about wether or not it is for me. I have lost muscle but I haven’t been weight training with any real frequency. I am deferring my decision and staying vegan another month. I can commit to do an annual meatless may, if that’s a thing.

This weekend has been great. I ate at Inn Season Cafe for the second time. This time, in good company. Tigressa and I enjoyed a healthy meal and indulged in Opera cake. The opera Cake is Vegan deliciousness. I can’t say enough good things about this resturant.ImageLook at that deliciousness!

Saturday morning, I enjoyed some time with Capoeiristas at Eastern Market. Don’t ask how we ended up playing under a truck. lol.

Image

Later that night, I bar-tended at a wedding reception as a favor for a friend.
Image
And Sunday, I accompanied Dan to Palmer Park in Detroit and reviewed some MovNat techniques.

ImageImage

Today, I’m starting a 3-7 day fast. (3 days if it is too difficult to focus/work) A friend of mine occasionally does a master-cleanse fast, and has invited me to try it. I’m hoping this will help me achieve greater fat loss, and move me closer to my goal of having 6-pack abs. This is my first juice fast / cleanse, and I hear the first time is very difficult. I will do my best to try and stay healthy during the fast and I’m open to any advice that is offered.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment